How does your garden grow?

We reap what we sow, and this year I hope to reap plenty (and save money in the process). In January I began with my seeds and make-shift greenhouse. I labeled several small plastic containers, filled each with soil, and planted pepper, cherry and heirloom tomato, cucumber, and carrot seeds. I’ve had success with tomatoes in the past, but hadn’t tried the others.

Using a large paint roller tray as my base, I placed the little containers in rows. I taped chopsticks in each corner, and at night I covered the whole shabang with a plastic bag (attached to each chopstick). It was totally ridiculous and an eyesore, but actually worked. After weeks of taking the plastic bag off each morning and back on each night, I had a slew of healthy sprouts.

Three months later I moved the whole tray outdoors. It was time for a little survival-of-the-fittest action, and overall the little plants did impressively well (thanks to a kind mother nature this year). After a few weeks on the deck, it was time for the tomatoes to have space in the ground or pots, and everything else to spread out in large pots.

It will be a few months before I begin enjoying the fruits of my labor, but the process is worthwhile. There’s something magical about being an active part of seed to fruit.

The cherry tomatoes are loving the deck!

For the cost of a pack of seeds (a $1 or so) and a little tlc, the savory reward is worth every bite!

In the garden again,

Ms. Thrifty

This entry was published on May 3, 2012 at 11:44 pm. It’s filed under In and around Leesburg and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Your thoughts...

