Pesto Part I

What’s the easiest way to transform any meal? Pesto! Officially, pesto! After surfing the web for recipes for vegetarian pizza, I ran across several including pesto as the base. It just so happened that I had a rather large container of spinach, so pesto it was!

I made the dough the night before and followed the simple instructions on the back of the pizza yeast packet. Gave it a good punch after it rose the first time, and let it rise again overnight in a covered, oiled bowl. The next day it sprang back when touched and was easy to roll out (which is a must with good dough). I baked it for only five minutes in a round pizza pan (the kind with small holes throughout). Probably three minutes would have been enough, because the dough was bubbly and beautiful and a lightly-toasted color.

 While the dough cooled, I sauteed roughly-chopped brussel sprouts until golden brown and crispy. Ah, nothing like crispy brussel sprouts. And here’s a piece of advice I received from a friend:  buy the entire stalk of sprouts. No kidding, it makes a huge difference in taste. So much sweeter and they last so much longer. After two weeks in the fridge, my sprouts were still firm and delicious. I also sauteed onions until they were beyond caramelized. They were crisp and wildly-shaped. Talk about sweetness!

Now that the dough had plenty of time to cool, I smathered on the pesto (made with spinach, almonds, cloves of garlic, salt, pepper, and quality extra virgin olive oil), thinly-sliced apple atop thinly-sliced potato, sauteed chopped brussel sprouts, caramelized onions, pine nuts and crumbly feta cheese. Basically anything available in my kitchen! I brushed the perimeter of the pizza with olive oil, and gave it about 20 minutes in the oven.

I can’t tell you how my husband raved about the pizza! And I also won’t share the number of slices I downed in one sitting.

An enormous photo for big taste!

The next day I had a slice at work, and let’s just say anyone in smelling distance had to know what it was.

More pesto news to come!

On the road again,

Ms. Thrifty

This entry was published on February 2, 2012 at 11:48 pm. It’s filed under In and around Leesburg and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Pesto Part I

  1. The picture of your pizza is beautiful – are you sure you’re not a professional chef?
    Keep the interesting stories coming!!!

Your thoughts...

